…and Now, Back to Our Regular Program….

This little milestone is very satisfying to see.  As rough as it is, it has a lot of usefulness.

Downfall rough with scale marker

This vague spaceshippy looking thing is the rough form of the Downfall’s dog-pile of houses. (See the page where this location first appeared.)

It’s built to scale. That was a feat in itself to figure out. It’s around 6 km, or 4 miles across at it’s widest point. Fairly close to what you can see here.

That tiny blue square down and right from centre is 100 feet tall and wide, about the size of a ten story (flat roofed) building.

It will be fun to explore this space as it evolves issue to issue. As you can imagine it would take many hours to complete a model like this in one go, so I’ll discover it as my characters do. I’ll develop the necessary settings first, working from the initial sketches and maps that I have. As I sketch backgrounds for those scenes, I’ll be inventing vistas that I can later add to the model if I choose.

The whole thing makes my brain feel all lithe, and sorta noodley. It’s gonna be fun!

About Meghann Doyle

Author and Illustrator, I'm crazy about stories. I love science fiction more than I love science fact. Post apocalyptic tales really hit the spot. All my work is created by hand with any material I can get my hands on. Quill pens are my favorite drawing tool. I'm self employed, so your support is very important to me and integral to further volumes of this terrific series. View all posts by Meghann Doyle

3 responses to “…and Now, Back to Our Regular Program….

Leave a comment